| |
A A A
About

KAHPERD — Modeling and Mentoring Leadership

As a sophomore in college, Vicki Worrell's professors suggested she and fellow classmates could further their goals of becoming the highest achieving teachers possible by joining their chosen profession's organization — KAPHERD. Worrell, who later became KAHPERD's first full-time executive director, and who continues to serve in the post today, had no idea the impact the organization would have on her career, or the careers of fellow educators.

Today she is one of thousands of health and physical education teachers who find inspiration, information and collaboration through KAHPERD and the group's national body, SHAPE America.

"Being a part of KAHPERD provides the encouragement to work with others, to meet fellow educators, and to share new ideas. Secondly, this group is tremendously important in promoting better health for Kansans, pushing members to take what we're learning about fitness education and creating intiatives that positively affect others. Finally, professional development is key. Members are able to discover opportunities within the profession, and enjoy the benefits of being published in peer-reviewed newsletters and journals." 

— Vicki Worrell, KAHPERD Executive Director
 

Help Us Lead the Way

If you are interested in becoming involved with KAHPERD in a leadership role, please contact President Claudia Welch. Opportunities include:

  • Serving on the KAHPERD Board
  • Serving on KAHPERD Committees
  • Serving as a peer reviewer of submitted articles to The Journal
  • Making presentations at conventions and workshops
     

Executive Board

Claudia Welch, President
Wendy Scholten, Past President
Vicki J. Worrell, Executive Director
Jannelle Robins-Gaede, Treasurer
Brenda Sharp, Secretary
Shellie Stahly, Member at Large
Mary Lou Anderson, Parlimentarian

KAHPERD Board and Committees

Ramie Allison, Grants and Model School
ramiekay@gmail.com

Mary Lou Anderson, Parlimentarian
mlouanderson21@gmail.com

Catherine Arellano, Awards , LMAS As Hoc
carellano@usd259.net

Deniese Barber, Nominations/Structure and Function     
dbarber@usd452.org

Baugh, April, Membership/Marketing/Social Media Editor Co-Chair Ad Hoc BAUGH.APRIL@usd443.org                                 

Joan Bolt, LMAS Ad Hoc
jbolt@usd211.org

Cody Bowers, Young Professional-Chair
codybowers11@gmail.com

Brenda Bowman, Awards Chair * 
bbowman@usd259.net

Jim Brown, Grants and Model School
pe4kids@cox.net

Nathan Burgess, Joint Projects
Nburgess@ellsaline.org

Jill Cundiff, Structure and Function -  LMAS Ad Hoc
jcundiff@bluevalleyk12.org

Meggin DeMoss, Nominations/Structure and Function
megdemoss@msn.com

Michelle DiLisio, Grants/Model School *
dilisiom@usd413.org

Tiffany Dirks, Publications
tiffany.dirks@washburn.edu

Verneda Edwards, Publications
verneda.edwards@bakeru.edu

Joyce Ellis, Convention Programming Voting* - Site Manager
jaellis@fhsu.edu

Elyse Espinoza, Awards
eespinoza59@gmail.com

Ashley Foss, Young Professional Chair-elect
ashleyfoss@gmail.com

Bill Gies, Legislative/Advocacy
giesbe@bethanylb.edu

Scott Gorman, Publications Chair *
rgorman@pittstate.edu

Tara Griffin, Convention Program
tgriffinmd@olatheschools.org

Marlys Gwaltney, Membership/Marketing Chair *
mgwaltney@usd440.com

Sarah Jo Heath, Grants and Model Schools, Social Media Ad Hoc
sheath@usd266.com

Jane Hennes, Nominations/Structure and Function *
ruthnakehennes49@gmail.com

Rhonda Holt, LMAS Ad Hoc Chair
rholtpe@sbcglobal.net

April Huddleston, Convention Programming Chair
ahuddles@emporia.edu

Kristy Jerke, Joint Projects
jerke@gbholyfamily.org

Glenda Jones, Membership/Marketing
jonesg@usd385.org

Todd Junker, LMAS Ad Hoc
tjunker@usd259.net

Brad King, Legislative/Advocacy Chair *
bking@mnu.edu

Susan King, Publications
king@ku.edu

Ursula Kissinger, Grants and Model School Chair *
ukissinger@tong464.org

Kathy Kochersperger, Awards
kathy.kochersperger@comcast.net

Aubrey Koeppe, Joint Projects
akoeppee22@gmail.com

Julia Marsh, Retirees Ad Hoc
jamarsh@gmail.com                                                    

Jaime McVey, Joint Projects
jmcvey@usd374.org

Sandy Menely
sandymenely@gmail.com

Tanya Molleker, Convention Programming
tmolleker@usd259.net

Kim Morrissey, Joint Projects Co-Chair*, Legislative BOE Monthly Speakers
kmorrissey@usd259.net

Dennis Obermeyer, Publications
dennis_obermeyer@friends.edu

John Oppliger, Publications
jopplige@pittstate.edu

Rick Pappas, Convention Programming/Historian/Future Professionals
rgpappas@msn.com

Jason Ramirez, Membership/Marketing
jramirez@usd345.com

Jannelle Robins-Gaede, Treasurer/Grants and Model School co-chair
gaede@pld.com

Wendy Scholten, Past President/Convention Programming Co-Chair*/Retirees Ad Hoc- Chair
stormynana87@gmail.com

Brenda Sharp, Secretary/Awards Co-Chair *
bsharp@goddardusd.com

Arianne Siedl, Legislative/Advocacy
coach.a@live.com

Shellie Stahly, Executive Member at Large/Membership/Marketing/LMAS Ad Hoc *
stahlkim@usd437.net

Karla Stenzel, Joint Projects Co-Chair *
kstenzel@usd259.net

Libby Stover, Legislative/Advocacy
Elizabethstover@usd475.org

Jennifer Thompson, Joint Projects AHA Liaison
jennifer.thompson@heart.org

Claudia Welch, President*/LMAS Ad Hoc
cwelch@usd345.com

Brandon Wolff, Legislative/Advocacy Voting Chair*/Social Media Ad Hoc
Bwolff@usd266.com

Vicki Worrell, Executive Director/Joint Projects Co-Chair
vworrell@emporia.edu

Tara Yost, Membership/Marketing
yostt@usd450.net

John Zody, Convention Programming/Site Manager Co-Chair
jzody@fhsu.edu

 

                  

Past Presidents

  • 1920 James Naismith, Lawrence
  • 1928-32 L.P. Washburn, Manhattan
  • 1933-34 Merle Henre, Kansas City
  • 1935 Irma Nevins, Pittsburg
  • 1936 L.P. Dittemore, Topeka
  • 1937 Thora Ludvickson, Wichita
  • 1938 Earl Kauffman, Topeka
  • 1939 Helen Saum, Manhattan
  • 1940 Oren Schearer, Garden City
  • 1941 Edna McCullough, Emporia
  • 1942 C.S. Noll, Manhattan
  • 1943-44 Eva Lyman, Manhattan
  • 1945-46 R. R. Strait, Lawrence
  • 1947 Sue Unruh, Kansas City
  • 1948 Fred Knorr, Manhattan
  • 1949 Joie Stapleton, Lawrence
  • 1950 Walter D. Roy, Kansas City
  • 1951 Ann Theilen, Wichita
  • 1952 Henry Shenk, Lawrence
  • 1953 Sophia Hodshirre, Kansas City
  • 1954 Charles Mills, Topeka
  • 1954 Helen Barnett, Kansas City
  • 1955 George Hawks, Kansas City
  • 1956 Katherine Geyer, Manhattan
  • 1957 Don Henry, Lawrence
  • 1958 June Morell, Wichita
  • 1959 Del Norris, Kansas City
  • 1960 Ruth Sevy, Hays
  • 1961 Roy Groe, Wichita
  • 1962 Helen Hocker, Topeka
  • 1963 Veryle E. Snyder, Manhattan
  • 1964 Rosella Towson, Wichita
  • 1965 Tuffy Kellogg, Topeka
  • 1966 Marge Stone, Emporia
  • 1967 Joe Thornton, Winfield
  • 1968 Jan Nuzman, Topeka
  • 1969 Wayne Osness, Lawrence
  • 1970 Mary Estes, Emporia
  • 1971 Stan Lauer, Topeka
  • 1972 Dorothy Martin, Emporia
  • 1973 Kelly Rankin, Lawrence
  • 1974 Sally Henisey, Lawrence
  • 1975 John Bolan, Manhattan
  • 1976 Jean Pyfer, Lawrence
  • 1977 Dennis Beitz, Manhattan
  • 1978 Susan True, Topeka
  • 1979 Mark Giese, Shawnee
  • 1980 Carole Zebas, Lawrence
  • 1981 Mark Pankau, Shawnee Mission
  • 1982 Fred Thibault, Wichita
  • 1983 Vicki Worrell, Derby
  • 1984 Pat McSwegin, Emporia
  • 1984 Pat McSwegin, Emporia
  • 1985 Gary Arbogast, Hays
  • 1986 Tom Bryant, Pittsburg
  • 1987 Susan Miller, Topeka
  • 1988 Darrel Lang, Emporia
  • 1989 Jim Stilwell, Pittsburg
  • 1990 Suzi Cammon Lauer, Lawrence
  • 1991 Judy Heimer, Topeka
  • 1992 Jerry Stockard, Pittsburg
  • 1993 Sandy Meneley, Topeka
  • 1994 Whitey Alpers, Hutchinson
  • 1995 Scott Gorman, Pittsburg
  • 1996 Betty Lavery, Lenexa
  • 1997-98 John Zody, Hays
  • 1999 Joella Mehrhof, Emporia
  • 2000 Joan Brewer, Emporia
  • 2001 Rob Hefley, Pittsburg
  • 2002 Kathy Ermler, Emporia
  • 2003 Cindy Combs, Newton
  • 2004 Jane Hennes, Topeka
  • 2005 Joyce Ellis, Hays
  • 2006 Vickie Deines, Hoxie
  • 2007 Meggin DeMoss, Rose Hill
  • 2008 Rhonda Holt, Wichita
  • 2009 Sue Stinson, Shawnee Mission
  • 2010 Jodie Leiss, Emporia
  • 2011 Rick Pappas, Wichita
  • 2012 Blake Taylor, Wichita
  • 2013 Damon Leiss, Emporia
  • 2014 Kim Morrissey, Wichita
  • 2015 Wendy Scholten, Olathe
4254 N. Sweet Bay | Wichita, KS 67226  | 316.634.3928