| |





Each year KAHPERD honors teachers, administrators, program coordinators and students for meritorious service in the field of health, physical education, recreation, and dance. We welcome your assistance in suggesting an individuals who deserve and qualify for these awards.

Specialty Awards

  • Wayne Osness Honor Award
  • Vicki Worrell Service Award
  • Kathy Ermler Technology Award

Teacher of the Year Awards

  • Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year
  • Dance Education Teacher of the Year
  • Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year
  • Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year
  • High School Physical Education Teacher of the Year
  • School Health Education Teacher of the Year

Professional Awards

  • Administrator of the Year
  • Young Professional of the Year
  • Recreation Professional of the Year

Outstanding Future Professional Awards

For Undergratuate students, there will be a future professional award recognized from each university and an over all Shaping the Future Award Recipient.   

Appreciation Awards

Nominate any KAHPERD member to be recognized for the work that they do during the year. The unsung folks that help KAHPERD be a fantastic organization.  Complete the nomination form and then also send a hard copy with payment of $20.00 to the awards chair’s address on the nomination form.

Email the nomination form as well to the awards chair.   

For all Appreciation Awards, complete the nomination form and submit to the Awards Chair by September 15th.

How to Nominate 

  1. Make sure the nominee meets all the requirements for the award for which he/she is being nominated.
  2. Notify the person of his/her nomination and confirm their interest in pursuing the nomination process.
  3. Submit nominations online to the Awards Committee Chair.
  4. Submit support materials to Awards Committee Chair.

Nomination and Submission Deadlines

The 3rd Saturday of April
Nominations Deadline for Specialty, Teacher of the Year, and Professional Awards

The 3rd Saturday in June
Support Materials Deadline for Specialty, Teacher of the Year and Professional Awards

September 1
Nominations Deadline for Future Professional 

September 15
Central District and SHAPE America materials due

September 20
Support materials deadline for Future Professional Awards

7125 SW 17th St. | Topeka, KS 66615  | 417 483-3273